Skip to main content
Topic: Tambour doors (Read 1034 times) previous topic - next topic

Tambour doors

After a thread mentioned the tambour doors, being an engineer I must applaud foretravel or others!  What an ingenuous solution for a motorcoach. They are simple, lightweight, and not subject to hinge spring stresses encountered trying to keep the contents of cabinets inside the cabinet. No hinge or spring associated stresses on screws that would require thicker and heavier wood. KISS perfected to say the least. As caflashbob pointed out a majority of cabinets would remain closed during an extreme stopping incident in my coach. Bonus is they look and operate imaculatlately with a one finger push in a coach that twists somewhat going down the road after 30 years. Double bonus is they still look awesome, and visitors are still awestruck by the cabinetry. Reframe from putting heavy stuff in the upper cabinets and your coach won't sway as much over bad roads. Just loving a 30 year old work of art.
Old Phart Phred, EIEIO
89 GV ored 36' #3405 300 hp cat 3208 ATAAC side radiator, mountain tamer exhaust brake

Re: Tambour doors

Reply #1
Really like ours, and it was one of the tipping points for me choosing the '96 over another coach.  '96 was the last year of the tambour doors.  Although our coach does have a few of the hinged type, which are also nice so long as the struts are still good.
1996 U295 36' WTBI

Reply #2
Not sure over the very long term how the tambours door sliders will be replaceable as they harden from age. 

They resist rolling up as the backing hardens.  I understand Foretravel no longer has them in their parts.

Maybe some here can figure out a source and method of replacement?

"Riding and rejoicing"
Bob & Susan
1997 U320 40' Mid entry, build 5132,  wtbi ce27, 4th owner
2007 Solara convertible
2 prodeco tech outlaw ss electric bikes

1095 watts solar
08 Ls 460 and a sc430
2000 Ford F-250 superduty 4x4

Reply #3