Skip to main content
Topic: 97 u320 40 ft/ (Read 810 times) previous topic - next topic

97 u320 40 ft/

Hello everyone  we are total newbies here. new to the forum and hope to be new to the rv lifestyle soon.  on 12/26 we looked at  a 1997 u 320  40ft.  with Cummins m11 and an Allison transmission, 161,000 miles.  super clean inside and only couple small blemishes outside. I know that the M11 with an Allison is a good combo but thought I would check the combined knowledge here before pursuing.  The asking price is $59,900.  Any info, advice, and guidance would be greatly appreciated.       

Re: 97 u320 40 ft/

Reply #1
Anything specific? Great engine Trans combo.. cant go wrong .. Does it have any maintenance records? Any paperwork? That would be a starting point for me. I think the price might be a little high but I havnt seen it.. Batteries, tires will and or might be the first initial costs in replacing. For starters!

Reply #2
Is this the coach at Olympia in TN?

If so it appears to have a Heart inverter/charger that would be a candidate for replacement to a pure sine or at least a modified sine inverter to support the newer electronics or a residential refrigerator upgrade if you go that route.

Again, assuming this is the Olympia coach, review the maintenance records mentioned in the ad.  Areas for close inspection, as mentioned above, are tires, air bags, fuel lines, air system, generator and bulkhead.

As most everyone will suggest, see if you can find a Foretravel experienced inspector.
Tom and Lisa

2003 U320 38' PBBS
Build No. 6217

Reply #3
Glen, I have a 96 320 with the M-11 and Allison Tranny. Wouldn't have it any other way, especially with the retarder. Mine has 107,000 miles and loves to run down the highway at speed limit. Set the cruise and let her breathe. Smooth ride, quiet, and did I mention she loves to run down the highway.

Won't comment on the price, since don't know what has been done maintenance and modifications.

Larry
Larry Warren