Skip to main content

Topic: Tambour doors (Read 584 times) previous topic - next topic

Tambour doors
After a thread mentioned the tambour doors, being an engineer I must applaud foretravel or others!  What an ingenuous solution for a motorcoach. They are simple, lightweight, and not subject to hinge spring stresses encountered trying to keep the...

Guests must Login or Register to view full posts.

Re: Tambour doors
Reply #1
Really like ours, and it was one of the tipping points for me choosing the '96 over another coach.  '96 was the last year of the tambour doors.  Although our coach does have a few of the hinged type, which are also nice so long as the struts are...

Reply #2
Not sure over the very long term how the tambours door sliders will be replaceable as they harden from age. 

They resist rolling up as the backing hardens.  I understand Foretravel no longer has them in their parts.

Maybe some here can figure out...

• DavidS
  • [*][*][*][*][*]
Reply #3
Can't you do a little wood working and shave them to keep in tip top shape?

Reply #4

• nitehawk
  • [*][*][*][*][*]
Reply #5
The individual strips of wood are glued to a fabric. Either the adhesive lets go or the fabric gets stiff or brittle and the material starts cracking due to the constant flexing that creates fatigue.
Our 1989 has all but one strip of wood still...

Reply #6
What I know about tambour doors (both our Airstreams had them, too) is one opens and closes them with ultimate care, very slowly. If one binds, don't 'cowboy' it, just move it back and forth gently, maybe spray some silicone on the tracks. Our...

Reply #7
Foretravel tambour cabinet  doors were made by a craftsman somewhere over in Florida, I seem to recall. When he died or was disabled, I forget which, Foretravel discontinued this feature.

Reply #8