Skip to main content
Topic: No air pressure, anything I can try? (Read 1444 times) previous topic - next topic

No air pressure, anything I can try?

We are stuck in Ocean Springs, MS with no brakes and no pressure. I read about an air governor or pump. I am not a mechanic, but just looking for some help. '95 U300 SE. Thank you.

Re: No air pressure, anything I can try?

Reply #1
Hang on. here's your specs:
1993 U-240 "La Villa Grande"..CAT 3116 w/ Pacbrake PRXB...Allison 3060 6-speed..
Previous: 1983 Airstream 310 turbo diesel, 1979 Airstream 280 turbo diesel
                                      Build # 4297
                                      PNW natives
                      Home base:  'Cactus Hug' (Ajo, Arizona)
                        DW Judy & Chet the wonder dog
                        Full-Timers 'Sailing the asphalt sea'

Reply #2
if you have no air pressure, your brakes are on.
first thing to check is the air governor.  a $20.00 item, and an easy fix.
good luck. lots of people carry a spare governor

Reply #3
Update: I tried loosing the nut on the bendix air governor and then turned bolt or screw 360 degrees counterclockwise and then back clockwise. Didn't help. When we shut the engine off, you can hear air leaking. It seems to be coming from the Bendix, but not sure. Would that seem like it's the problem? Thank you for the quick responses!

Reply #4
Air pump belt intact and compressor spinning? Can you hear air leaking anywhere?
Try to find your D2 valve, most likely on compressor smack it with something metal like a cresent wrench, there's also an adjustment screw under the cone shape plastic cover that you can turn in and out to try to unstick it. See photo
Old Phart Phred, EIEIO
89 GV ored 36' #3405 300 hp cat 3208 ATAAC side radiator, mountain tamer exhaust brake

Reply #5
A bit more information would help us narrow down the possible trouble area.