Skip to main content
Topic: Flexsteel to Villa ??? (Read 1122 times) previous topic - next topic

Flexsteel to Villa ???

If I can get a super deal on Villa Captain and Copilot chairs at the FMCA conference, is this a brand change I want to make? And, second, are there any issues with adapting the Flexsteel base plates to Villa?
Randy (N4TDT) and Karen Crete
Sarasota, Florida
2000 U270 34' WTFE Build 5756 "Ole Red"
Follow Us: Login • Instagram  Camping for the Rest of Life – It does not matter how slowly you go so long you don't stop

Re: Flexsteel to Villa ???

Reply #1
I think either is good but I am no expert but what I can help you with........

Anything is possible with a welder!!  :))

Reply #2
We wanted to replace our Flexsteel captains chairs at Foretravel and learned about a few issues :

Foretravel will only install Villa brand chairs.
Our existing Flexsteel base is custom made and shorter in height than any offered by Villa.
Some have installed Villa and found they could not reach the pedals, maybe due new chair shape, so Foretravel made a matching pillow to be used behind driver.
Our Foretravel floor has specifically positioned welded steel cross members that the  Flexsteel chair floor mounting bolts go through for strong support.
Villa baseplate has floor bolts located in a different location than Flexsteel, so new floor holes are drilled.
New drilled floor holes go through wood top floor, Styrofoam & bottom fiberglass.  With no steel it is less secure in an accident than OEM bolting.
Some on this Forum have made steel plates that attach to new Villa base hole positions and separately to OEM floor holes.
Villa chair may end up positioned so swiveling will hit the wall or couch preventing turning chair sideways.

Foretravel has switched many Flexsteel setups to Villa.

Even different Flexsteel chair models may have above issues.