Skip to main content
Topic: MOT "Inspection" Experience PSA (Read 2685 times) previous topic - next topic

MOT "Inspection" Experience PSA

I truly hate it that my first post here has a less than positive tone; but, I feel it could be a meaningful tidbit for this community.  .........I recently identified a used Foretravel that fit my preset parameters of size, condition, cost, etc.  As I was several states from Texas at the time and wanted "eyes on" I started searching for an inspector that would travel to Nac and came up empty handed (20/20 hindsight it looks as if I should have inquired here).  Anyhow, I'm no novice to the inspection process having purchased several vehicles on-line (and always with a satisfactory result - I believe inspections work).  In all cases the "deliverable" of an inspection is a written report describing what systems were verified, how verified, to what standard, and pass/fail.  Many times comments are added quantifying/qualifying the finding.  Anyhow, I advised MOT I was having difficulty locating an inspector and they offered that service from within for the price of $700 (which seemed market $$ to me).  So, we (I) agreed to purchase that service.  A couple of days later I received a "text" with some 8-10 deficiencies noted (light inoperative, oil drip, roof needs resealed, etc).  No words of explanation, photos, a list of what all was checked, or anything else.  I did challenge the product and many days later received an email that said "I thought so and so called contacted you".  Well please benefit from my $700 lesson learned and hold fast to a "3rd party" inspection process.  I heard great things about MOT going in.  Know that YMMV.  Travel Safe!

Re: MOT "Inspection" Experience PSA

Reply #1
Being personally on hand for an inspection is CRITICAL.  You want Keith or whoever you have inspect the coach be able to SHOW YOU what he is looking at.  Wear old clothes.