Skip to main content
Topic: Auxiliary Air Pump frequently running (Read 979 times) previous topic - next topic

Auxiliary Air Pump frequently running

I've been chasing down air leaks for the last two months that I've had this new to me 09 Nimbus and yet my Aux pump cycles on and off all day.  It seems that when cold at night (Mid 30 degree) it runs every 7 min, and when warm durning the day (70 degree) it's 20 to 30 min.  The coach stays level with the leveling system off and the slide seals seem to be holding air - what else should I be looking for?
2009 Nimbus CE
2016 Jeep Cherokee Trailhawk
 ̷2̷0̷0̷6̷ ̷C̷o̷u̷n̷t̷r̷y̷ ̷C̷o̷a̷c̷h̷ ̷I̷n̷s̷p̷i̷r̷e̷

Re: Auxiliary Air Pump frequently running

Reply #1
Have you checked for leaks on your slide bladders? Just had the living room slide bladder replaced because of a leak and now the bedroom slide bladder is leaking
The selected media item is not currently available.Keith & Jo
2003 U320T 4025 PBBS Designer series
Build 6203    Cummins 500hp
2000 U320 4010 WTFE / Build 5762 —Sold—
Motorcade #18070   
Pasadena, Texas
2015 Jeep Wrangler Sahara-Sunset Orange pearl coat
Don't argue with a fool, people watching might not be able to tell the difference.

Reply #2
Have you checked for leaks on your slide bladders? Just had the living room slide bladder replaced because of a leak and now the bedroom slide bladder is leaking

I think it was Dan Weaver who observed that the slide bladders seem to have a lifespan of 7-10 years.  Just like tires, they are made of rubber and tend to age out.  If one goes for what appears to be age of that range rather than acute damage, it might be wise to have both/all done at the same time.

On a 2009 Nimbus, if these are original they are up to 12 years old.

Every 20-30 minutes could be attributed to the leveling system waking up - I believe 30 minutes is its interval.  Every 7 minutes definitely sounds more like the pressure in the slide bladder system is dropping fast.