Skip to main content
Topic: Solar project. What am I forgetting. What would you change? (Read 1007 times) previous topic - next topic

Solar project. What am I forgetting. What would you change?

Michelin Star Solar Installation for Big Mac price
600 AH Lithium Battery Installation

Great info in the above posts!

$1184 for 1140 watts of solar
Panels seem to be something you can find for a bargain if you are patient and willing to look around.

I have the panels, just need your help in looking over the design so I can order the rest.
I believe I am going to upgrade to  the 100/50 controller from Victron.  It's only $90*2=$180 more and if I want to add 2 more 285W panels @ $125 at a later time it will handle it. So for $430 approx I could add another 570W and the install on those would be easy, will need to change breakers to 60a & 40a.

I am a complete novice, I need your help in punching holes in this design!
Punch away.

Thanks in advance for putting up with my learning curve, it was steep!
Shout out to the following for talking me through this curve
Pierce Stewart
Chuck "Craneman"
Jack Lewis
Justin @ Bay Marine Supply/ Justin 619-320-5899 ext 105 justin@baymarinesupply.com
Roger Engdahl, didn't talk with Roger but definitely leaned on his post to further my knowledge.

Justin @ Bay Marine said he prefers to over design the panel wattage for the 9 months out of the year that, even in ideal conditions, you will not be able to produce enough solar wattage from your panels to Max out your solar controller. This is due to angle of the sun, dirty panels, no tilt, etc.  So in other words don't design the system for the 2-3 hrs of the day in July during ideal max conditions its not cost effective, but having the excess wattage will be most beneficial during the spring/winter/fall periods to get the max wattage out of the system during not ideal conditions.