Skip to main content
Topic: Why buy an used Foretravel over Monaco, need help in this discussion. (Read 3808 times) previous topic - next topic

Why buy an used Foretravel over Monaco, need help in this discussion.

From reading the Forum in the last 3 month (Newbie), I know there are several members that can give me advice in this question.

Background:

Since a friend of mine bought an approximately 10 year old CC Allure, and came to visit us on the farm with it several years ago, I suffered from a bad case of RV Coach envy.
I certainly did not need one, but I wanted to have one, and thankfully, I could afford it and my wife indulged me.

So I studied the market, set myself a budget under $ 100K, and looked at many coaches for a year.
It was very clear to me looking in the maximum 20 year old category, only formerly high end coaches were under consideration.

So I concentrated my search on the top models of CC, Monaco and Foretravel, deciding that Newell and Prevo are out of my range.
After a year I bought a 2003 U320, after a similar old Monaco Signature turned out to have all sorts of unresolved problems.
I am quite happy with it.

Challenge:

Another friend of mine, dealing in and piloting private charter jet planes for a living, (like Falcon 50),  now has decided that he and his wife want to try the full time coach living. I mention his profession to show that he is familiar with complex, technical systems. Because he lives in a world of people for whom money is not a concern (owners of private jets), he asked me for advice what he should purchase.
(For the record, I am not a member of this group of people and neither is he)

He was first looking at Prevos, but quickly realized that if you want to but something in the 10+ year old range, you have to spend serous money.

My advice to him: